top of page

Trust and Be Helped

Updated: Feb 8, 2019


One of my favorite verses over the past year has been Psalm 37:5 - "Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in Him; and He shall bring it to pass."


There is so much in that one short verse. When we commit our way to the Lord and trust in Him, He will bring "it" to pass. Some people think that that means that whatever we ask of God, as long as we trust Him, He'll fulfill our wishes.


I don't believe that's what it means. "It" is actually an irrelevant word. No matter what "it" is, God has a perfect plan for us. Of course, we choose whether or not we want to walk in His will, but when we commit ourselves and our path to Him, and trust Him to "work [all things] together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose" (Romans 8:28), then He will.


During my devotions this morning, I found a verse that also talks about trusting the Lord and a blessing that comes from it. It's Psalm 28:7 - "The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him."


When we trust the Lord, it helps us. For me personally, it helps me to be more confident in who I am in Christ, to be more at peace, and to be more satisfied - and all of that is because of the Lord. When we choose to trust Him, it helps us - and it produces joy in our lives.


So why do we often hesitate to simply let go and trust God? A lot of that is probably pride. Sometimes it is fear. But we have to make the choice to choose trust over doubt and fear. And when we trust, we are helped.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page