top of page

Adventures of Miss Mom: Spring Cleaning



Sometimes my life feels like this... all jumbled up and needing to be sorted out. Some things (the full decks) are easy to pick out, while the rest have to be meticulously sorted into individual piles...



Okay, enough of the serious talk. My life isn't all doom and gloom, and though I'm dreadfully confused sometimes... that's mostly my poor brain's fault. ;)


Mom and Daddy went to Denver last week to help my oldest brother and his family move. So they were gone from Sunday night to Friday evening, and as a surprise, we decided to spring clean. If we all work on it together, we should be done by Tuesday night, right?


Ha! Those were my original thoughts... but when Monday came and no one wanted to work because we were all missing Christopher and Rebecca and Abigail already... that kind of went through the drain.


Okay, well then, Wednesday. Surely we can be done by Wednesday.


(Rolling eyes) Stop kidding yourself, girl.


I gave up about Tuesday evening. Sure, we all worked on our respective chores to get them spotless. But with the rooms torn apart with pulling furniture away from walls to clean the walls and baseboards, it was a little hard to get my head screwed on straight.


Oh, and then Wednesday night, another of my brothers and his wife and their two little boys came to spend the night because the weather was supposed to be bad on Thursday and they live in a mobile home.


A playful toddler and a baby to snuggle? Immediate distractions. ALL DAY. I was tempted to throw in the towel... but we pressed on, despite not getting much work done on Thursday. I did get the living room put back together (though my nephew had a load of fun playing in the new obstacle course before I did so).


And then our poor friends who came to have a fun day on Friday... I was the mean friend who made my sisters work before we could watch a movie... and of course our sweet friends helped. We couldn't have gotten it done without them (YES! We did get it done!). They did get to stay until late that night and we watched several movies and had homemade pizza for supper. So hopefully they had fun. :D


Want a few pictures of what my life looked like last week? Here's just a few of the things we did. (Okay, I've gotta tell the truth here... these aren't all from last week. They're from the past two weeks or so. But it's just a little snapshot of some of my life!)



Yes... a lot of food (my 9-year-old sister decorated the cake). And dirty dishes and laundry to be folded... and my dog lying nearby while I clean out a small fridge outside. Probably boring stuff to y'all... but it's life to me. :)


Oh yeah. And I did get those cards all organized!




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page